Keeping it Real?

OK, raise you hand if you think both the Republican and Democrat candidates for president of the US are ‘keeping it real?’  That’s what I thought.  No takers.

What does that mean, “keeping it real?”  To most it means being genuine.  To others it means being who and what you want to be.  However I knew one guy who used that term a lot and what he meant by it was that he wanted to do, say and be those things that he desired to do with no restraints, no accountability or guilt.  I don’t think that’s what we mean by KIR (from here on I’m going to use KIR for “keeping it real.”

I’ve met some new friends lately.  They are quite the professionals they have aspired to be.  However, one of the most refreshing things I’ve learned about them, is that they like being around people who are sincere, not pretentious, simple, not complex and relaxed not hyper.  I totally agree with them.  My new friends are these kinds of people.

I like being simple, sincere and relaxed.  KIR means that you are living a life that you know you should be living and are enjoying it.  I can’t imagine what it would be like to be frustrated with people all the time, walking around guilt laden and showing everybody what a hyper junk addict I am because I’m all jacked up on energy drinks.  Hey, take a chill pill and slow down! (And that doesn’t mean popping a sedative or smoking a Camel or lucky Strike.)  (LOL).  Talking old school now.

Let’s enjoy life like Lionel Richie, “Easy like Sunday Morning.”  (You know you like that song!) 

Jesus said, that His way is easy and His burden is light.  I like that too.  Some people I know have given Him a bad rap by living Christian life that’s difficult and full of stress.  It’s good that He doesn’t sue you for defamation of character!

Come on now, life has enough difficulties without us creating some more.  You get hyper about the least little things, now go ahead just admit it.  I use to live that life.  I’ve chilled out now.  I’ll admit, I do drink a Mountain Dew or Dr. Pepper or a few cups of coffee just to get me kick started, but not overdosing on pure adrenaline!  That would make anyone over anxious, irritable or impatient.  Some don’t even have to do that and just their life style of verbal abuse in the home, low self esteem and health issues make them that way.

You can stress out if you want to, that’s your CHOICE.  Yes, you choose to stress out.  You stress out on bills, politics, someone taking your parking place, cutting in front of you while driving or just because the cable going out during your favorite program.  You know you do.

Life with Jesus Christ is so much easier than a lot of you think and act.  He wants us to just “keep it real.”  I know some Christians that are so full of anxiety and stress that they are a walking sandwich board to others that says, DON’T BE A CHRISTIAN, IT’S NOT WORTH IT.  IT HASN’T HELPED ME WITH MY STRESS AND ANXIETY YET!  Sad, so sad.

Relax.  It’s going to be OK.  God is in control.  Slow down.  Just keep it real!

That’s what I think about it.

DTW

One response to “Keeping it Real?

  1. Well said. You make reference to the idea that stressing out is a choice. I could NOT agree more. Life is about attitude. Our perception is our reality. If we do not know God’s word….if we do not study and seek Him…..if we do not CONTINUALLY ask God to reveal ourselves to ourselves (catch my drift?), then our perception is WRONG. It is the ironic, silly nature of life.

    The funny thing is: Christianity is so easy. Can I get an Amen? I do agree that it has varying shades and colors, that it is deep and rich……but it is accessible, delicate, durable and lasting–all wrapped into one case. It is a verb, not a noun. It has become the rare moment where an “action word” can also be a “descriptive word” all in one lump. It is predicated by the elements of our actions….and it is defining.

    So what do I say to the cynic who claims stress cannot be controlled, and that our reaction to it is determined by an out of reach source? I say “faith” and “The Holy Spirit.” Not convinced? Read on:

    “…Because of our faith, Christ has brought us into this place of undeserved privilege where we now stand, and we confidently and joyfully look forward to sharing God’s glory. We can rejoice, too, when we run into problems and trials for we know that they help us develop endurance. And endurance develops strength of character, and character strengthens our confident hope of salvation. And this hope will NOT lead to disappointment [OR STRESS]. For we know how dearly God loves us because He has given us the Holy Spirit to fill our hearts with His love….” Romans 5: 2-5 NLT version. (And, I dare you to look it up and read several verses past that denoted section, because it offers insight from Paul into the role that Christ plays in each of our lives as sinners.)

    So, how do I wrap up from here? I say the same thing twice. Life is about attitude. And attitude is determined by our knowledge and closeness to our Lord. And, the more we allow ourselves to indulge in the Lord’s spirit during times of testing and trials, our reaction (or endurance) improves. And like God’s word says…from there our strength improves, which in turn, develops our character…….which, ultimately, defines the hope of our salvation.

    So should we worry and stress? The answer seems pretty darn simple. No.

    May God’s peace be with you. Keep writing! We never know just how far our words reach.

    Humbly in Him,
    Becky Cain

Leave a Reply

