Just Smile and Wave, Boys, Just Smile and Wave!

OK, I’ll admit and confess, I went to see Madagascar II and loved every minute of it.  Jake and I shared a bucket of popcorn that I spilled into the floor about 1/3 of the way into the movie (klutz).  However, it must have been the time I was rocking back and forth with laughter.  I love to laugh.

My favorite characters in both movies were the penguins.  The mafia type, Frank Sinatra head penguin keeps me in stitches.   In the first movie, the line I loved best was when the ship was sailing away and the penguins were on the shore.  One said to the boss, “What do we do?”  He said, “Just smile and wave, boys, just smile and wave.”  I love that line!

I was thinking, sometimes people get on our last nerve.  They take us to our nth degree of irritation. 

Can I get a witness here? 

And I don’t care how spiritual you are, they are going to get your goat.  They are going to see if they can break your last guitar string, cause your engine to blow up, see if they can sing that high note that breaks all your glass, shine the brightest light into your eyes and whatever else they can do. 

Admit it!  You know what I’m talking about.

Jesus knows. 

The hyper-spiritual, the religious law keepers of the gate, the holier than thou crowd, the ones who were proud that they were of the humble fraternity, the ones who boasted in their latest spiritual title or their honorary doctorates, the theologian’s and all those who thought they knew better than Jesus took him to his nth degree of frustration.  But still He kept His cool.  That’s so fantastic.

I have had conversations with people that they are like a small puppy that when you say, “quiet,” they want to get the last bark in.  Do you know what I’m talking about.  Dude!

But the more I grow and the more I get to know Jesus, he teaches me how to handle people like this. 

Inside I want to fight back, give ’em what for.  (I know all this surprises you coming from a pastor, but hey, we’re human too!)  I want to give them a piece of my theologically trained, seminary focused and years of church experience mind!  Period.

But then Jesus, at that time, comes along side of me  and says, don’t do anything, don’t say anything, “Just smile and wave!”  That just does it for me.  To stand right there on the shore with Jesus, looking back at those who just busted on me and He says, “just smile and wave, boys, just smile and wave.”  It makes it all easier.  I settle down, I don’t ruin that which He’s built up in me and He just keeps me settled!  PTL.

Cool, huh?  I think so.

So, when the boss, friend, wife, husband, child, church member, brother, sister, whomever you want to retaliate against gives you a hard time….”Just smile and wave boys, just smile and wave!”

That’s what I think about it.

DTW

(OK back to work, boys!)

One response to “Just Smile and Wave, Boys, Just Smile and Wave!

  1. I have a feeling I’ll look like a pageant queen in a Christmas parade if I adopt this philosphy, but it will probably be more effective than my usual tactic of getting angry at customers and showing everyone my can-you-see-that-I’m-frustrated face. I love your blog because you write about things that I didn’t know I needed to think about and then I am pleasantly surprised and it gets me through the day. Little sermonettes to get me from Sunday to Wednesday and from Wednesday to Sunday. Don’t stop blogging and I won’t stop smilin’ and wavin’.

Leave a Reply

