Have We Lost Our Moral Minds?

I went to the movie theater to watch a flick recently and the older gentleman that I purchased the tickets from began to share with me about workers who drive up in their company vehicles during the day and take time to watch a 2 hour movie.  Now I had to assume the worst.

 

Why would someone want to, on company time, watch a movie during the day?  Because they don’t want to work, that’s why!  Can you believe that?

 

I hear you say, yes I can believe it.  I wouldn’t put anything past anyone anymore.

 

My family tells me that I’m such a trusting person.  I probably am.  I trust people.  I think the best of people.  I feel that is a good trait and one that a pastor needs.

 

I went to a meeting once with the chairman of my trustee committee and once the meeting was over, he got in the car and said, “Did you see that he lied to you about five times?”  I looked at him in amazement.  “You’ve got to be kidding me.”  No, my friend said, and he pointed out the things he lied about.  The sad fact of the matter was that we were talking to a church official.

 

People are deceiving themselves when they do wrong, know they do wrong and don’t do one thing about it.  Everyone around them, their family, their friends and their acquaintances know it but the ones doing wrong don’t seem to see the harm in it.  No blood no foul.

 

We have people becoming way too comfortable in our churches with their questionable lifestyles.  By we, I mean the people within the church.  Pastors are accommodating people on their church boards who condone the lifestyles of people living together without a marriage license or other such things. 

 

My friend, Pastor McKissic, said one of the most profound things to us recently.  He said we respect fish, game and driving more than we do our women or our men.  Why, because we will live with them exclusive of purchasing a license (a marriage license).

 

I shutter to think of the under the table evil that goes on in Christians homes today.  However, I wouldn’t be surprised.  The Bible says that the heart of man is evil.  We justify ourselves by saying we’re just human and we’re bound to do wrong.  To me, that’s taking advantage of the Grace of God.  That’s abusing His goodness toward us. 

 

If God is so merciful, then we need to be appreciative of it by taking some responsibility for our own lives and the way we live them. 

 

Hey, I believe God calls us to be merciful not judgmental. However, I do believe that guilt in the lives of those who do wrong impedes a life of joy and freedom.  When one does wrong, guilt fills the heart where God wants peace.  Quietness and contentment cannot enter a heart where deceit, secrets and self-gratification reside. 

 

That’s what I think about it.

 

DTW – http://www.exaltationchurch.com

2 responses to “Have We Lost Our Moral Minds?

  1. I have seen “Christians” do and say things that amazed me. Like Flip Wilson used to say, “The devil made me do it”.

  2. My own words cannot express how much I agree with this blog……so, I’ll just refer to the Word of God…..

    “Do not bring sorrow to God’s Holy Spirit by the way you live. Remember, He has identified you as His own, guaranteeing that you will be saved on the day of redemption. Get rid of all bitterness, rage, anger, harsh words, and slander, as well as all types of evil behavior. Instead, be kind to each other, tenderhearted, forgiving one another, just as God through Christ has forgiven you.

    Imitate God, therefore, in everything you do, because you are His dear children. Live a life filled with love, following the example of Christ. He loved us and offered Himself as a sacrifice for us, a pleasing aroma to God.

    Let there be no sexual immorality, impurity or greed among you. Such sins have no place among God’s people. Obscene stories, foolish talk, and coarse jokes–these are not for you. Instead, let there be THANKFULNESS to God. You can be sure that no immoral, impure, or greedy person will inherit the Kingdom of Christ and of God. For a greedy person is an idolater, worshipping the things of this world.

    Don’t be fooled by those who try to excuse these sins, for the anger of God will fall on all who disobey Him. Don’t participate in the evil things that people do. For once you were full of darkness, but now you have light from the Lord. So live as people of Light!!! For this light within you produces only what is good and right and true.

    Carefully determine what pleases the Lord. Take no part in the worthless deeds of evil and darkness; instead expose them. It is shameful even to talk about the things that ungodly people do in secret. But their evil intentions will be exposed when the light shines on them, for the light makes everything visible. This is why it is said, ‘Awake, O sleeper, rise up from the dead, and Christ will give you light.’ So be careful how you live. Don’t live like fools, but act like those who are wise.” Ephesians 4:30-32, 5:1-15

    I bear you my testimony, whoever the reader of this is, that God is a forgiving, graceful God…who always keeps His promises. If you have made mistakes, be penitent with a contrite heart…and He will forgive you. If you ask the Lord daily to examine you and reveal your own sinfulness….oh how I promise you that you will get a clear picture of yourself.

    Change is a choice. Just know that Heavenly Father loves each of us more than we can imagine. On that note, I quote once more the perfect ideal that we need to “carefully determine what pleases the Lord.” Do it always, and you will become more and more free in this life……

    Humbly in Him,
    Becky

Leave a Reply

