Power of Choice

You know, I find that many people cannot make choices to save their lives.  They have a choice in front of them and they are either afraid to make it or don’t know what decision to make and they just freeze up.  Then whatever they are suppose to make a choice about never gets made and usually the problem or situation only gets worse

I see it in people who attend church.  They can’t make a choice where to go.  In Richmond, we have a scenario where churches grow as a result of a lot of people leaving one church and going to another.  That’s always been funny to me.  I’ve never seen it quite like it here.  As long as there are other people making the same choice they can do it, otherwise they can’t.  I know of some people like this who are nomadic church roamers.  They don’t like this or they don’t like that and they graze from place to place; can’t make a decision.

I see it in people who feel like they are always left out.  They need to make a choice that they are going to fit in.  It’s like I say, if you want to get in, you’ve got to fit in.

My mom was like that.  She said, I’m not standing back for anybody.  I’m going to be there with everyone else.  By the way, did I say she was 87 and still going strong with this attitude?

Are you hesitant about making a decision about something? 

Look, do your homework, make that decision and make it right.

If you need to go on a diet, make that decision and do it.  If you need to pay some bills, make a decision and pay them.  If you need to talk to that spouse of yours about something serious and you’ve been putting it off.  Do it.  If you need a job, go get one, don’t just talk about it.

Do today what you’ve been putting off and make that decision that you’re not going to be this way ever again.

Make that decision.

Now I’m making a decision to end this.  So, there I’m gone.  Have a great day.

That’s what I think about it.

DTW – http://www.exaltationchurch.com

3 responses to “Power of Choice

  1. “When God our Savior revealed His kindness and love, He saved us, not because of the righteous things we had done, but because of His mercy. He washed away our sins giving us a new birth and new life through the Holy Spirit. He GENEROUSLY poured out the Spirit upon us through Christ Jesus our Savior. Because of His grace He declared us righteous and gave us confidence that we will inherit eternal life. This is a trustworthy saying….these teachings are good and beneficial to everybody.” Titus 3:4-8 NLT

    When the hardest decisions come your way, and you contemplate a choice–remember that Christ sacrificed His life to save yours. Everything beyond that is humanistic in nature and means nothing when you pass to the other side of the veil. Thinking in that perspective sure makes decisions like, “Should I switch jobs, Should I buy a gym membership, Should I switch to this church or that church, Should I use Tide or Gain, etc etc etc?” pretty darn menial.

    When you struggle with choices, remember too that most confusion in decision is bondage handed down from the adversary. He wants you to take 10 years to decide something. He wants you to be shallow, unconfident, jealous, indecisive, angry and lowly.

    Don’t take this for doctrine. This is just WHAT I think about it…….

  2. I agree, making a solid choice is sometime the biggest problem for people. In fact it largely has an effect on how successful you are in life. Sticking to that choice and commitment is tough to, but you have to make the initial choice or decision.

  3. Here is my response to that, wait, maybe I shouldn’t respond, someone might read it. So what, I’m going to respond, but wait maybe someone will be offended by my response, I better not. Wait a minute, I think my opinion counts for something, I should respond. Maybe I should give it some thought first, no I’m just gonna do it. What if it doesn’t sound right, what if they think its foolish. Maybe I’ll respond to the next one. Yeah, I’ll just wait till the next one to respond. Hey, remember the time we were talking about the time we couldn’t remember remembering, remember?

Leave a Reply

