God Bless You Lonely Wives!

fatherless-familiesI’ve got to hand it to all the mothers and wives who get up faithfully every time the doors of the church are open on Sunday morning and get themselves and their children ready for church, knowing that their husbands refuse to go. God Bless you!

I’ve seen my mom do it so many times. She told my dad that he should go and he would just sit there and watch TV. She’d say come on, Timothy, let’s go to church, daddy is staying home again.

I never understood why he stayed home.

He said he loved God. He said he loved Jesus. He wanted me to go, but he refused to go. It didn’t make much sense to me why he said those things but still wouldn’t go to church.

He, like most men who don’t go to church with their wives, would go anywhere else but when it came to church, he balked like a mule who refused to plow the garden.

It’s sad to see men like this set a sorry example for their sons and daughters. I know. I used it for an excuse many times.

“Mom, daddy is not going to church, and neither am I. If he doesn’t have to go to church, neither do I.” Dad would just sit there and smile. Mom didn’t have a leg to stand on.

Many times I would hear mom say to me when we went to church together that she wished that Dad would go and be with her like other solid, good and faithful men who would sit with their wives. These were men who were respected as pillars in the church, men whom you could count on at a minutes notice.

Mom and I would be embarrassed when people would come up to her and say, “Where’s John?” or to me, “Where’s your dad?” We would just say he didn’t want to come.

Yeah, I feel for you wives who have husbands that don’t want to come to church with you because of whatever reason they seem to make up that makes good logic to them.

Now, I’m not talking about husbands, who go to another church, I’m just talking about those who stay at home and either sleep or do nothing. I don’t understand them.

Later my dad started being faithful and went with my mom. We loved that.

Dads you’re setting a regretful example to your children when you don’t attend with them. You think you have problems now? You just wait until they get older, they’ll do the same thing to their wives.

God Bless you lonely women.

That’s what I think about it.

DTW-www.exaltationchurch.com

3 responses to “God Bless You Lonely Wives!

  1. I don’t know if you’ve written a more touching blog than this one. I understand why you feel so passionate about husbands of women in your own church not coming to church with them. I understand why you care so much about their children – whether they are grown or teenagers or little kids. I understand why you wake up at night with them on your heart, why you pray for them, why you get frustrated over them. Your dad regretted every Sunday that the car left without him and he couldn’t get those days back. You regretted it; your mother did. But you get to try to rescue those days for other dads and children and wives. Thank you for caring for the sheep.

  2. This is a great blog…I had parents who went to church together every Sunday of my life,and continue to do so in their 80’s. This type of example has ment so much to me as a christian and parent.When I have fallen short in my life,and many times I have,this example always brought me back to my faith walk…I as you say GOD bless parents who worship together with their families….Thanks again for your blog and your great friendship…..Lyle

  3. AMEN! It is hard for anyone to commit to giving up free time on Sundays, but especially hard to leave home and leave your spouse to attend. It is yet even harder to get kids ready alone and leave home without the support of your spouse. But a word of encouragement for any of you who make the effort. I have walked this road for 17 years, faithfully every Sunday without support of a spouse. The blessings, in the long run, are much more than my sacrifice. I have 2 children who know the Lord personally. If I had it all to do over again, I would live the “lonely wife” life again. The outcome of that commitment is far greater than the loneliness.

Leave a Reply

