Uh, Can I Have A Word With You, God?

We think we want Gods’ help. But, when God get’s serious with us about the answer to our conversations with Him, we become skittish and we back pedal.

We listen in on the average prayer found in the average church…

YOU: Dear God…(sigh) (pause)…

I thank thee O Father God, for all you’ve done for me, O Father God, and I’m so thankful, O Father God that you bless me the way you do, O Father God and I come before thy throne today O Father God to ask you to help me, O Father God and bless me in ways that I know not of O Father God and I pray to you that you will meet my need O Father God and realize that I am a poor sinner saved by grace, O Father God and that thy servant, me, O Father God is in need and in want today, O Father God and I need to hear from you today, O Father God and help me when I say to thee that thou art the greatest of all Gods, O Father God and I ask you to bless my family and bless my home, O Father God and grant my prayer O Father God because without you I am helpless and I have great needs, O Father God and I thank you ahead of time, O Father God for being there for me, O Father God, and I ask all these things in the wonderful matchless Name, O Father God, the Name that is above all names, O Father God, the mighty Prince of Peace, Himself, O Father God, the one in whom no other Name is above, O Father God, Jesus Christ and it’s in His lovely name I pray, O Father God. Amen and Amen.

GOD: Well I appreciate….hello? Hello? Is anybody there?

Long silence – long pause

GOD: Did he just say that to me and just walk away without giving me time to respond to him? No, he didn’t. Well, I had so much to say. Hello? I guess he did. (sigh) (pause)

Dead silence.

That’s what I think about it.

DTW – http://www.exaltationchurch.com

3 responses to “Uh, Can I Have A Word With You, God?

  1. LOL!!!

    I just want to say, Pastor Timothy, that this was hilarious, Pastor Timothy, because it shows, Pastor Timothy, how many do not understand, Pastor Timothy, how to just talk to God, Pastor Timothy.

    How funny it would be if we talked to people like that! Seriously, how God is grieved when He has our answers and we aren’t listening. And we are the ones who miss out because we go on without our answers. Thanks for the reminder, Pastor Timothy, and I hope, Pastor Timothy, That you have a great day, Pastor Timothy.

  2. When I actually did stop to listen to Him here are a few things he said to me…

    Let’s meet at my house Sunday before the game.

    Loved the wedding, invite me to the marriage.

    My way is the highway.

    Have you read my #1 best seller? There will be a test.

    Do you have any idea where you’re going?

    Don’t make me come down there. -God

  3. OK Guilty as charged!!!!! Been there done that. I’ve even put it in His hands then went and took it away and tried to do it on my own. Ohhh how we can be so foolish and proud. Thank you Pastor for reminding us.

Leave a Reply

