Tattoos: Not For Me

religious-christian-jesus-neck-tattoos-flash-designs-tattoo-pictures-gallery-tattoo-art2Tattoos have been around for as long as anyone can remember. They are an art to themselves. Some people have dedicated their lives to doing the work of tattoos. Some call it skin art. Others have used their bodies as a canvas for tattoo artists.

In doing research for this topic I found four interesting facts from a Harris Survey.

o Thirty-six percent of those ages 18 to 25, and 40 percent of those ages 26 to 40, have at least one tattoo, according to a fall 2006 survey by the Pew Research Center.

o The National Geographic News stated in April 2000 that 15% of Americans were tattooed (or approximately 40 million people!)

o Esquire Magazine estimated in March 2002 that 1 in 8 Americans was tattooed.

o According to the American Society of Dermatological Surgery, they stated in 2005, that of all the people they treat with laser and light therapy, only 6% are getting a tattoo removed.

o Harris Poll, 2003, estimates that fully 36% of those aged 25-29 have one or more tattoos.

o A 2006 a study done by the Journal of the American Academy of Dermatology found that 24% of Americans between 18 and 50 are tattooed; that’s almost one in four. And the survey showed that about 36% of Americans age 18 to 29 have at least one tattoo!

There are Christians who feel that having a tattoo is taboo. They adhere to the Old Testament principal that marking up your body is wrong. Other Christians have no problem with it and many have religious tattoos placed on their body to honor God.

Some Christians do it for fun. Some out of curiosity.

Me? Well I’ve thought about it several times. Sometimes out of curiosity, sometimes out of doing something I had never done before. As my personal belief whether it is right or wrong? I think this one is totally up to the individual and his relationship to God. I don’t find anything wrong with doing it as long as it is in good taste.

Now would I get one? Most likely not. For reasons you might be surprised. I dislike anything with pain. I definitely don’t like the idea of a needle blasting my skin so many times. But then again, I’m won’t rule it out either.

That’s what I think about it.

DTW – http://www.wordpress.com

2 responses to “Tattoos: Not For Me

  1. I also believe that a person that gets a tattoo has to determine for themselves if it is right or wrong. However, I also believe that when young people get tattoos, Many of them regret it later. SO…If you want a tattoo, and it is in good taste, get a paint on tattoo. They last about 4 weeks, and if you want to keep it, you go get it refreshed once a month. If you don’t want it any longer, LET THE THING WEAR OFF……Just my personal advice.

  2. i just got my 3rd tattoo a couple of days ago. im feeling mixed emotions about having it. i love my tattoos but at the same time everyone is judging me. and telling me how bad i am for getting one. one person even told me that i was gonna go to hell over it. i just dont know what to think about it. i know that in the old testament, it says not to but there are other things that were changed bacuse jesus died for us. i just a little more understanding of what will happen to me when he comes back.

Leave a Reply

