Why Would I Have Enemies?

0102043368700I remember Jesus saying to “agape my enemies.” Then I had to think for a minute, “who are my enemies,” and then, “why do I have enemies?” Enemies, that’s a pretty harsh thing. Enemies? Do you know what the definition of enemy is? An enemy is somebody who hates or seeks to harm somebody or something. Wow! Do I have someone who hates me or wants to do me in? I don’t have any connections with the mafia (that I know of.) I don’t know of anyone personally who dislikes me that badly.

Now, there are people who probably don’t like my personality or the work I’m doing, but I don’t think they would consider me their enemy. Certainly I wouldn’t think of them being MY enemy. Jesus even used the word “enemies,” plural. Can you imagine having, not one but, several enemies?

You say, yeah, I have enemies. Really? Why? What have you done or what have they done to you that caused this?

I know that America has enemies because of our belief in capitalism and freedom. I know that there are people, groups and even nations that would love to see our country collapse into oblivion–but to have personal enemies? That’s pretty unusual.

But, nevertheless, do you realize what we are to do if we have enemies? Agape them. Are you kidding me? No, I’m not. Now, if you are to agape them, your enemies, how much more should you agape those who are not your enemies? Is that person who lives with you your enemy? No? Then agape them. Is that person with whom you work your enemy? No? Then agape them too. How about your boss? Is he or she your enemy? No? Then agape him or her.

Jesus was serious about this agape stuff. He wanted others to know about His Kingdom because of our agape and nothing else. If we agape our enemies and show them God’s agape, then how much more will our friends, co workers and family know that we agape them too?

Agape takes on all kinds forms, actions and words. What can you do today to show that agape lives and breathes in you? Agape is a strong word. It is an amazing supernatural emotion. How about giving someone a hug today that you wouldn’t normally hug? How about giving someone a kiss that you normally would not kiss? How about doing something more that just nice for someone that you normally would not do something nice for?

When they ask why you did it, just say you’re practicing on them so that when it comes to performing agape on your enemies, you’ll be perfect.

That is, if you have enemies…

That’s what I think about it.

DTW – http://www.exaltationchurch.comeclogo10

Leave a Reply

